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General information 
The South Carolina Police Officers Retirement 
System (PORS) is a defined benefit retirement plan 
administered by the South Carolina Public Employee 
Benefit Authority (PEBA) for certain public safety 
and other employees of state agencies, public and 
charter school districts, public higher education 
institutions, and other local subdivisions of 
government that have joined PORS. This handbook 
provides a general introduction to PORS and the 
benefits that are part of the plan. 

Membership 
Membership is mandatory as a condition of your 
employment with a covered employer unless you 
are in a position or classification of employment 
specifically exempted from membership by statute. 
Certain classifications, such as non-permanent 
employees, have the option to elect non-
membership within 30 days from their date of hire. 
Your employer should let you know if your 
employment falls into one of these categories. 

Police officers, peace officers, firefighters, coroners, 
magistrates and probate judges are eligible for 
membership in PORS under the following 
circumstances: 

Police Officers – A police officer is defined as a 
person who is required by the terms of his or her 
employment to give his or her time to the 
preservation of public order; protection of life and 
property; and the detection of crime in the state. 
Police officers must also earn at least $2,000 per 
year and devote at least 1,600 hours per year to this 
work unless exempted by statute. 

Coroners and Deputy Coroners - Coroners and 
deputy coroners in a full-time, permanent position 
who meet the above requirements are also 
considered police officers. 

Peace Officers – A peace officer is a person who is 
employed and certified by the S.C. Department of 
Corrections, the S.C. Department of Juvenile Justice, 
or the S.C. Department of Mental Health and has 
the status of a peace officer under Section 24-1-280 
of the South Carolina Code of Laws. Peace officers 
must also earn at least $2,000 per year and devote 
at least 1,600 hours per year to this work unless 
exempted by statute. 

Firefighters – A firefighter is a person who gives his 
or her time to prevention and control of property 
destruction by fire. A firefighter must also earn at 
least $2,000 per year and devote at least 1,600 
hours per year to this work unless exempted by 
statute. 

Magistrates1– Newly-appointed magistrates are 
required to participate in PORS for service as a 
magistrate. 

Probate Judges1 – Probate judges may elect to 
participate in PORS or they may elect to participate 
in the South Carolina Retirement System (SCRS).  

PEBA makes the final determination as to whether 
any person may become a PORS member. 

Your PORS membership starts when you earn 
compensation from a covered employer and make 
contributions to your PORS retirement account. You 
are considered an active member if you are working 
in a PORS-eligible position for a PORS-covered 
employer, earning service credit, and making 
regular contributions to a PORS retirement 
account, and you have not retired or terminated 
from covered employment. You must be an active 
member to be eligible for most of the benefits 
described in this handbook. 

1These members are not subject to the 1,600-hour and $2,000 
per year requirements. 
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Class Two and Class Three 
membership 
Currently, there are two classes of membership: 
Class Two and Class Three.2 Class Two members are 
generally employees who currently have earned 
service credit in PORS or a correlated retirement 
system for a period of service prior to July 1, 2012. 

Class Three members are those members who do 
not currently have earned service in PORS or a 
correlated retirement system for a period of service 
prior to July 1, 2012. A period of withdrawn service 
or a period of participation in the State Optional 
Retirement Program (State ORP) does not count 
toward the earned service credit used to determine 
whether a member is Class Two or Class Three 
unless the member has completed a service 
purchase to establish earned service credit in PORS 
for the period of withdrawn service or State ORP 
participation. 

Employee and employer 
contribution rates 
Employee and employer contribution rates to the 
system are set by the PEBA Board each year based 
upon the results of the annual actuarial valuation of 
the system and statutory requirements. You 
contribute a tax-deferred percentage of gross pay 
into your PORS retirement account. For fiscal year 
2017 (July 1, 2016, through June 30, 2017), the 
PORS employee contribution rate is 9.24 percent. 

Member compensation limit 
The Internal Revenue Service imposes a federal 
compensation limit under the Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC), Section 401(a) (17). This limit, also 
referred to as a cap, is placed on the amount of 
annual compensation which may be taken into 
account for purposes of calculating pension 
contributions. Employees who became members of 
PORS or SCRS, or participants in State ORP prior to 
January 1, 1996, are not subject to the annual 

compensation limit. Employees who became 
members or participants in the plans on and after 
January 1, 1996, are subject to the compensation 
limit as adjusted by the commissioner of the IRS for 
increases in the cost of living in accordance with 
Section 401(a)(17) of the IRC. The calendar year 
2016 compensation limit (cap) is $265,000. 
Compensation in excess of this limitation is not 
subject to retirement contributions 

Interest on your PORS account 
Your PORS account earns 4 percent interest 
compounded annually on your balance as of the 
previous June 30 until you retire or your account 
becomes inactive. An account is considered inactive 
when no contributions have been made in the 
preceding fiscal year and no other active, correlated 
system or State ORP account exists. 

Correlated systems 
PEBA administers several other defined benefit 
retirement systems for public employees and 
officials. Two of these other systems, the South 
Carolina Retirement System (SCRS) and the General 
Assembly Retirement System (GARS), are correlated 
systems with PORS. If you have contributions in 
more than one of these correlated retirement 
systems, your service credit is maintained 
separately within each system; however, your 
service credit is added together to determine your 
eligibility for a retirement annuity. 

For example, if you are a PORS member with 10 
years of service credit and were previously a 
member of SCRS with 15 years of service, PEBA 
would add together your service credit to 
determine your eligibility for a retirement annuity. 

2Class One membership is no longer applicable. Please contact 
PEBA if you have any questions about Class One benefits. 
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Designating beneficiaries for 
your account 
The benefits administered by PEBA also offer 
options for you to help provide for your survivors in 
the event of your death. As an active member, you 
have the option to designate three types of 
beneficiaries for your account: 

• Primary beneficiaries for your in-service 
death benefit (see Page 6) or refund of 
contributions (see Page 7). Multiple 
beneficiaries would share equally in a 
survivor monthly annuity; 

• Contingent beneficiaries in case of death of 
the primary beneficiaries. All primary 
beneficiaries must be deceased before any 
contingent beneficiaries will be paid; and 

• Incidental death benefit beneficiaries (see 
Page 6). 

You may name your estate as a beneficiary for your 
account; however, monthly annuity payments 
cannot be paid to an estate. As an active member, 
you may change your beneficiaries at any time 
before retirement. 

Online access to your 
PORS account 
Member Access is the online resource that allows 
you, as a member of PORS, to view and update your 
personal information on file with PEBA. It's safe, 
secure and available anytime from anywhere you 
have Internet access. 

Active members may: 

• View their designated beneficiary 
information; 

• View their current service credit; 
• View and print their member statement;  
• Change their address; 

• Calculate an unofficial cost estimate to 
purchase service credit; 

• Submit a service purchase request; and 
• Submit and view the status of their service 

retirement application. 

Retired members may: 
• Change their tax withholdings and their 

address;  
• View and print a 1099-R form; 
• View and print an annuity verification 

letter;  
• View their current payment method;  
• Change their payment method from paper 

check to direct deposit; and  
• Modify an existing direct deposit account or 

add an additional direct deposit account. 

Inactive members may: 
• View and print their member statement; 

and 
• Change their address. 

If you haven’t registered for Member Access, you 
can begin the process by clicking on the Member 
Access button on PEBA’s homepage. It will take you 
to the Member Access home page, where you can 
select the Register Now button to start the process. 

Purchasing additional 
service credit 
Active members may establish additional service 
credit for various types of previous employment 
and leaves of absence, and up to five years of non-
qualified service, which is a type of service credit 
not associated with any specific employment. 
Generally, a member on leave without pay from a 
covered employer is not eligible to establish service 
credit of any type. 

You may establish service credit through a lump-
sum payment, a pre or post tax installment service 
purchase, or a tax-deferred rollover from an 

http://www.peba.sc.gov/index.html
http://www.peba.sc.gov/index.html
https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
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Individual Retirement Account (IRA), a 401(k) plan, 
a 401(a) eligible plan, a 403(b) plan, or a 457 plan. 
The interest rate for an installment service purchase 
is calculated at the prime rate plus 2 percent. 
Installments initiated July 1, 2016, through June 30, 
2017, will be calculated at 5.50 percent. The 
interest rate is fixed for the term of the installment.  

You may establish each type of service credit once 
within a fiscal year. If you are establishing service to 
meet retirement eligibility, contact the Customer 
Contact Center at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430  
for more information. Payment for service 
purchases must be made in full prior to your 
retirement date or termination from employment. 
If you previously established service credit for 
periods of part-time service or previously earned 
service credit for periods of part-time service prior 
to July 1996, you may be eligible to establish 
additional service credit at an additional cost. 
Please contact the Customer Contact Center at 
803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 for more 
information.  

One of the factors used to determine the cost of 
most types of service purchases is your career 
highest fiscal year earnable compensation. This 
includes any salary earned during a period of 
withdrawn service, regardless if the withdrawn 
service has been established through a service 
purchase. This also includes earnable compensation 
received while participating in the State Optional 
Retirement Program (State ORP) if you have 
purchased PORS service credit for any State ORP 
participation. The cost to purchase periods of less 
than one year will be prorated. You may not 
establish PORS service credit for a period of service, 
other than military service, for which you may also 
receive a retirement benefit from another defined 
benefit retirement plan or for a period of service for 
which you already have credit in PORS. You also 
may not establish PORS service credit if doing so 

would violate Section 415 or any other provision of 
the Internal Revenue Code. 

A Class Three member who purchases a period of 
withdrawn service or State ORP participation for 
any period of covered employment rendered prior 
to July 1, 2012, will revert to Class Two 
membership. 

Some types of purchased service may not be used in 
determining eligibility for retiree health insurance. 
If you are covered by the state’s employee health 
insurance program, contact the Customer Contact 
Center at 803.737.6800 or toll free at 888.260.9430 
for eligibility information. If your employer does not 
participate in the state’s employee health insurance 
program, contact your employer for information 
about insurance in retirement. 

Descriptions of types of service 
Transfer from SCRS to PORS 
If you are an active member of PORS, you may 
transfer your non-concurrent SCRS service credit to 
your PORS account by paying 5 percent of your 
current earnable compensation for each year 
transferred. Your SCRS contributions plus interest 
and non-concurrent service credit are then 
transferred to your PORS account. SCRS earned 
service that is transferred to PORS is considered 
earned service for the determination of the PORS 
minimum service requirement for benefit eligibility. 
Earnings that are associated with the service that is 
transferred from SCRS to PORS are not included in 
the calculation of your average final compensation. 

Public service 
As an active member, you may establish PORS 
service credit for any period of paid public service 
as an employee of the government of the United 
States, a state, or political subdivision of the United 
States by making an actuarially neutral payment to 
PEBA. The cost calculation is based in part on your 
current age and service credit, as well as your 

http://www.peba.sc.gov/contactus.html
http://www.peba.sc.gov/contactus.html
http://www.peba.sc.gov/contactus.html
http://www.peba.sc.gov/contactus.html
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career highest fiscal year earnable compensation at 
the time PEBA receives your service purchase 
request. The cost, which is determined by PEBA’s 
independent actuary, will not be less than 16 
percent of your career highest fiscal year earnable 
compensation for each year purchased.  

Educational service (K-12) 
As an active member, you may establish service 
credit for any period of paid classroom teaching 
consisting of grades kindergarten through 12 in a 
public, private, or sectarian school by making an 
actuarially neutral payment to PEBA. The cost 
calculation is based in part on your current age and 
service credit, as well as your career highest fiscal 
year earnable compensation at the time PEBA 
receives your service purchase request. The cost, 
which is determined by PEBA’s independent 
actuary, will not be less than 16 percent of your 
career highest fiscal year earnable compensation 
for each year purchased.  

Military service 
As an active member, you may establish up to six 
years of service credit for any period of military 
service for which you do not already have service 
credit in SCRS, PORS, or GARS by making an 
actuarially neutral payment to PEBA. This includes 
service in the United States Army, Navy, Marine 
Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, Select Reserves, and 
the Army or Air National Guard. The cost calculation 
is based in part on your current age and service 
credit, as well as your career highest fiscal year 
earnable compensation at the time PEBA receives 
your service purchase request. The cost, which is 
determined by PEBA’s independent actuary, will not 
be less than 16 percent of your career highest fiscal 
year earnable compensation for each year 
purchased. Your discharge from service must be 
under conditions other than dishonorable. Under 
guidelines set forth by the Uniformed Services 
Employment and Reemployment Rights Act 
(USERRA), you may also arrange in advance with 

your employer to continue contributing to your 
account while on active duty military leave or make 
the contributions after returning from military leave 
within a period three times longer than your 
military leave, but not more than five years. 

Leave of absence 
Active members on an employer-approved leave of 
absence who return to covered employment within 
four years may purchase service credit for the 
employer-approved leave period for which they do 
not already have service credit, up to a maximum of 
two years per leave of absence. The leave of 
absence must be with an employer covered by one 
of the retirement systems administered by PEBA. 
The cost calculation is based in part on your current 
age and service credit, as well as your career 
highest fiscal year earnable compensation at the 
time PEBA receives your service purchase request. 
The cost, which is determined by PEBA’s 
independent actuary, will not be less than 16 
percent of your career highest fiscal year earnable 
compensation for each year purchased. 

Workers’ compensation 
You may establish service credit for a period while 
on leave of absence and receiving workers’ 
compensation benefits. The cost is based on 
contributions plus interest using your earnable 
compensation at the time of injury. You may also 
arrange in advance with your employer to continue 
contributing to your account while you are receiving 
workers’ compensation benefits.  

Previously withdrawn PORS service 
If you left employment and received a refund of 
your contributions plus interest from PORS, you 
may re-establish this service upon returning to 
active membership. You must repay the amount 
you withdrew plus interest to the date your request 
is received. Previously withdrawn earned service 
that is re-established in PORS is considered earned 
service for the determination of the PORS minimum 
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service requirement for benefit eligibility. Please 
note that earnings associated with a re-established 
withdrawal will be considered for possible inclusion 
in the calculation of a member’s average final 
compensation. A Class Three member who 
purchases a period of withdrawn service for any 
period of covered employment rendered prior to 
July 1, 2012, will revert to Class Two membership. 

Non-qualified service 
Active members who have five or more years of 
earned service credit may establish up to five years 
of non-qualified service by making an actuarially 
neutral payment to PEBA. The cost calculation is 
based in part on your current age and service credit, 
as well as your career highest fiscal year earnable 
compensation at the time PEBA receives your 
service purchase request. The cost, which is 
determined by PEBA’s independent actuary, will not 
be less than 35 percent of your career highest fiscal 
year earnable compensation for each year 
purchased. 

State ORP service 
Active members may purchase service credit for 
their years of participation in the State Optional 
Retirement Program (State ORP) by making an 
actuarially neutral payment to PEBA. The cost 
calculation is based in part on your current age and 
service credit, as well as your career highest fiscal 
year earnable compensation at the time PEBA 
receives your service purchase request. The cost, 
which is determined by PEBA’s independent 
actuary, will not be less than 16 percent of your 
career highest fiscal year earnable compensation 
for each year purchased. State ORP participation 
that is established in PORS is considered earned 
service for the determination of the PORS minimum 
service requirement for benefit eligibility. Please 
note that earnings associated with established State 
ORP participation will not be considered for 
possible inclusion in the calculation of a member’s 
average final compensation. A Class Three member 

who purchases a period of State ORP participation 
for any period of covered employment rendered 
prior to July 1, 2012, will revert to Class Two 
membership. 

 

In-service death benefits 
Active member incidental 
death benefit 
If, as an active member, you die in service with at 
least one year of service credit and your employer 
provides incidental death benefit coverage, a 
payment equal to your current annual earnable 
compensation will be paid to your beneficiary. If 
your death results from a job-related injury, the 
one-year requirement is waived. 

Amounts paid to your beneficiary are subject to 
ordinary federal and state income taxes. It is up to 
your designated beneficiary to request that state 
taxes be withheld from the payment. PEBA is 
required to withhold federal taxes of 20 percent on 
the incidental death benefit payment unless your 
designated beneficiary rolls over the money into 
another qualified retirement plan. A designated 
beneficiary who is a spouse may roll over the 
incidental death benefit payment into an individual 
retirement account (IRA), a 401(k) plan, a 401(a) 
eligible plan, a 403(b) plan, or a 457 plan. A non-
spousal beneficiary may roll over the incidental 
death benefit payment into an inherited or 
beneficiary IRA only. 

Your designated beneficiary should check with an 
accountant or a tax advisor about his tax liability, or 
visit the IRS’s website at www.irs.gov and the 
website for the tax agency in the state in which he 
resides. In South Carolina, visit the South Carolina 
Department of Revenue’s website at 
https://dor.sc.gov/. 

http://www.irs.gov/
https://dor.sc.gov/
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State agencies and public school districts 
automatically provide incidental death benefit 
coverage to their employees; however, coverage is 
optional for other employers. If an employer elects 
to provide incidental death benefit coverage for its 
employees, the employer must pay the required 
contribution rate for the coverage. 

Accidental death program 
This program provides a survivor annuity if your 
employer is covered and you die as a result of an 
injury by external accident or violence incurred 
while undergoing a hazard peculiar to your 
employment while in the actual performance of 
duty, without willful negligence on your part. An 
accidental death annuity payment will be made 
monthly to your surviving spouse for life. If you 
have no spouse or your spouse dies before your 
youngest child has reached age 18, the monthly 
annuity is divided equally among the surviving 
children, each of whom will continue to receive a 
monthly annuity until reaching age 18 or upon 
death, whichever occurs first. If you have no spouse 
or child under age 18, the monthly annuity will be 
paid to your surviving father and/or mother for life. 
The monthly annuity payable to your survivor 
through the Accidental Death Program will be 
subject to federal and state taxes. 

State agencies automatically provide Accidental 
Death Program coverage to their employees; 
however, coverage is optional for other employers. 
If an employer elects to provide Accidental Death 
Program coverage for its employees, the employer 
must pay the required contribution rate for the 
coverage. 

Retirement account benefits 
If you die in service as an active member, your 
designated beneficiary will be entitled to receive a 
refund of your employee contributions plus the 
interest earned on your account regardless of your 

age and years of service credit at the time of your 
death. 

Your designated beneficiary will be eligible to 
choose a monthly annuity instead of a refund of 
your employee contributions plus the interest 
earned on your account if: 

• You are a Class Two member with at least 
five years of earned service credit and 
either have at least 15 years of total service 
credit or you are at least 55 years of age at 
the time of your death; OR 

• You are a Class Three member with at least 
eight years of earned service credit and 
either have at least 15 years of total service 
credit or you are at least 55 years of age at 
the time of your death. 

Disability retirement 
annuity 
Who may apply 
 
Becoming disabled does not automatically qualify 
you for a disability retirement annuity; you must file 
an application and go through the review process. 
You must be “in service” with a covered employer in 
order to file an application for disability retirement 
benefits. You are considered in service if you have 
not yet retired from PORS and it has not been more 
than 90 days since you were last on the payroll of a 
covered employer. If PEBA does not receive your 
application while you are in service, you will not be 
eligible to receive any disability retirement benefits 
from PORS. Retired members who work for a 
covered employer, including TERI participants, are 
not eligible to apply for a disability retirement 
annuity. 

In addition to being in service, you must also meet 
certain earned service requirements to apply for 
disability retirement benefits. If you are a Class Two 
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member, you must have at least five years of 
earned service credit toward retirement unless your 
disability is the result of an injury arising out of and 
in the course of the performance of your job duties. 
If you are a Class Three member, you must have at 
least eight years of earned service credit toward 
retirement unless your disability is the result of an 
injury arising out of and in the course of the 
performance of your job duties. 

Coordination with other benefits  
You may arrange with your employer to make your 
retirement contributions through your employer if 
your disability requires you to be placed in an 
employer-approved leave status while receiving 
workers’ compensation benefits. Doing so will 
ensure that you continue to earn retirement service 
credit during your workers’ compensation leave 
period. Do not wait to apply for a disability annuity 
until your workers’ compensation claim is finalized. 
Many workers’ compensation claims are often 
settled after covered employment has ended. If 
your disability claim is denied, the continuance of 
paying retirement contributions and earning 
retirement service credit may be important to your 
long-term retirement plans. 

How to apply 
You should file your application for disability 
retirement as soon as you become disabled and 
while you are still in service with an employer 
covered by PORS. Either go to the PEBA website or 
contact the Customer Contact Center at 
803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 to obtain a disability 
retirement packet. When you file your disability 
retirement claim, please complete all of the forms 
in the disability retirement packet. You do not, 
however, need to include any medical records from 
your health care providers. If your disability 
retirement application is received by PEBA after you 
have already retired from PORS or more than 90 
days after you terminate from all covered 

employment under PORS, you will not be eligible to 
apply for a disability retirement annuity.  

Acknowledgement of receipt 
If you do not receive notification in the mail 
confirming PEBA’s receipt of your application within 
10 days after submitting it, please contact the 
Customer Contact Center at 803.737.6800 or 
888.260.9430. If you are eligible for service 
retirement when you become disabled, you may 
apply for a service retirement annuity and begin 
receiving a monthly annuity while awaiting 
determination of your disability claim. You will 
receive only one type of payment, so if your 
disability claim is approved, you will need to decide 
whether to continue to receive your service 
retirement annuity or to begin receiving a disability 
annuity. When filing for both service and disability 
retirement benefits, please note that your disability 
retirement application must be received before 
your service retirement date. 

Processing the claim 
Your medical records will be obtained from your 
health care providers by our disability 
determination provider and evaluated to determine 
the severity and limiting effects of your physical or 
mental impairment. The determination to approve 
or deny your disability retirement claim is made 
after review by a medical board of three physicians. 
If your claim is denied, you will have an opportunity 
to appeal the denial. Please allow a minimum of 
three months after all required documentation has 
been received from you, your employer, and your 
health care providers for your disability application 
to be processed. If you do not receive notification of 
PEBA’s decision within three months, please contact 
the Customer Contact Center at 803.737.6800 or 
888.260.9430. 

If your disability retirement claim is denied, you 
have one year from the date of the denial to file an 
administrative appeal. If the final agency 

http://www.peba.sc.gov/index.html
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determination upholds the denial, you have 30 days 
from the date of the final agency determination to 
appeal to the Administrative Law Court.  

Effective date of a disability 
annuity 
If your disability retirement claim is approved, the 
effective date for your annuity will be the 30th day 
after your application is received by PEBA or the day 
after your last day on your employer’s payroll, 
whichever is later. 

The disability retirement benefit will be based upon 
your years of credited service projected to age 55 or 
25 years of credit, whichever is less, your average 
final compensation at retirement, and the current 
benefit multiplier for service retirement benefits. 
However, the annual benefit may not be less than 
15 percent of your average final compensation. 

Continuing disability review 
A disability annuity, once approved, may be 
discontinued if: 

• You regain a certain earning capacity; or 
• Medical evidence indicates that you are no 

longer disabled; or 
• Your disability annuity was not approved 

following a continuing disability review.  

Periodic medical reexaminations may be required 
up to age 55. If PEBA determines that your disability 
annuity should cease because of an improvement in 
your medical condition, your annuity will stop the 
month of your scheduled continuing disability 
review or the month of PEBA’s decision, whichever 
is later. 

 

 

Returning to employment while 
receiving a disability retirement 
annuity 
If you are under age 55 and receiving a PORS 
disability annuity, you should report earnings from 
any gainful (public or private) employment to PEBA 
annually because there is an earnings limitation for 
all employment which is applied on a calendar-year 
basis. You may earn the difference between your 
adjusted average final compensation (AFC) at 
retirement and your disability annuity without 
affecting your annuity. 

Your AFC may be adjusted each year for inflation for 
earnings limitation purposes only. This increase 
generally matches the percentage of the annual 
increase in the Consumer Price Index for Wage 
Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W). These 
adjustments affect the amount you can earn while 
receiving a disability annuity; however, they do not 
affect the amount of your annuity. You will receive 
a letter each February advising you of how much 
you can earn and requesting confirmation of your 
prior year’s earnings. You will have to repay any 
benefits that you received to which you were not 
entitled. If you earn more than the difference 
between your adjusted AFC and your disability 
annuity, your monthly annuity will be reduced or 
possibly canceled. If you return to work with an 
employer covered by one of the retirement systems 
administered by PEBA and your annual earnable 
compensation is equal to or greater than your 
adjusted AFC, your disability annuity ceases and you 
must become an active member of the system. 
After age 55, a disability retiree is subject to the 
same earnings limitation as a service retiree (see 
Page 17). 
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Leaving before retirement 
If you leave your job and terminate all employment 
covered by one or more of the retirement systems 
administered by PEBA before you are eligible to 
retire, you have two options concerning your 
contributions: 

• Request a refund of your contributions plus 
the interest earned on your account; or 

• Leave your funds in your PORS account. 
Your account will continue to accrue 
interest until your account becomes 
inactive. Your PORS account is considered 
inactive when no contributions have been 
made to the account in the preceding fiscal 
year and no other active, correlated system 
or State ORP account exists. 

Request a refund  
If you have terminated all employment covered by 
one or more of the retirement systems 
administered by PEBA and wish to receive a refund 
of your accumulated employee contributions plus 
the interest earned on your account, you must 
complete a Refund Request (Form 4101) and return 
it PEBA. You may submit your refund request 
immediately upon termination; however, by law, 
there is a minimum 90-day waiting period to a 
maximum of six months from your date of 
termination until a refund can be made. If you are 
working for two or more covered employers and/or 
contributing to more than one retirement account 
(i.e., working two jobs and paying into a PORS and 
an SCRS account), you must stop working in all 
correlated systems to request a refund from any 
account. 

If you receive a refund, you forfeit your rights to any 
future service retirement or disability annuity. 
Employer contributions are not refunded. Instead of 
having the refund paid directly to you, you may 
choose to roll over the funds into an IRA, a 401(k) 

plan, a 401(a) eligible plan, a 403(a) plan, a 403(b) 
plan, or some 457 plans. The South Carolina 
Deferred Compensation Program’s 457 retirement 
plan does not accept rollovers from your PORS 
account. 

PEBA is required to withhold federal taxes of 20 
percent on the taxable portion of any refund that is 
eligible for a rollover but is not transferred directly 
into another qualified retirement plan. If you do not 
take advantage of a rollover as indicated above and 
are under the age of 59 ½ at the time of 
distribution, your distribution will be subject to 
regular income tax in the year you receive the 
payment, plus there may be a 10 percent penalty 
tax on the taxable portion of your distribution, 
unless certain exceptions apply. 

See Special Tax Rules in IRS Publication 575 and IRS 
Form 5329 for more information on this tax penalty 
and the exceptions to the penalty. 

Be sure to check with an accountant or tax advisor 
regarding your tax liability, or visit the IRS’s website 
at www.irs.gov and the website for the tax agency 
in the state in which you reside. In South Carolina, 
visit the South Carolina Department of Revenue’s 
website at https://dor.sc.gov/. 

Leave funds on deposit  
When you leave your money in your PORS account, 
you retain your years of service credit, which may 
be added to any future service you may accrue 
should you later become employed in a position 
covered by one of the correlated retirement 
systems administered by PEBA. Your account will 
continue to earn interest until it becomes inactive. 
An account is considered inactive when no 
contributions have been made to the account in the 
preceding fiscal year and no other active, correlated 
system account exists. You may apply for a refund 
at a later date or apply for a service retirement 
annuity upon reaching eligibility. No action is 
required if you wish to retain your membership and 

https://forms.retirement.sc.gov/formGenericGet.do?formNum=web4101.xdp
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p575.pdf
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f5329.pdf
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f5329.pdf
http://www.irs.gov/
https://dor.sc.gov/
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leave your funds on deposit, but it is your 
responsibility to keep PEBA informed of your 
current address as well as any name or beneficiary 
changes. You can make certain updates to your 
account information through PEBA’ secure Member 
Access website (see Page 3 for more information). 

Service retirement 
A good way to begin the planning process for 
retirement is to attend a retirement seminar 
offered by PEBA. Sessions are held regionally in the 
fall. The seminar schedule can be found online at 
https://www.peba.sc.gov/events/. You can also 
register to attend a seminar through this website. If 
you are considering retirement, you may conduct a 
consultation by telephone or in person at our office. 
Simply contact the Customer Contact Center at 
803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 to arrange a 
consultation or visit our office. Walk-ins are 
welcome. 

When to apply 
You must file an application with PEBA to retire; it is 
not automatic. You may file your application as 
early as six months prior to your desired effective 
date of retirement but no later than 90 days 
afterward. We encourage you to file your 
application as early as possible. Retirement 
applications and other forms are available on the 
PEBA website at www.peba.sc.gov or you may 
contact the Customer Contact Center at 
803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 to obtain these 
forms. 

If you do not receive notification of PEBA’s receipt 
of your application within 10 days after submitting 
it, contact PEBA. Please do not terminate 
employment until PEBA has verified your service 
credit and you receive written notice of your 
retirement eligibility from PEBA. This notice will be 
sent to you in the mail and is entitled, “Notification 
of Retirement Eligibility and Estimated Benefit.” 

Benefit estimates may be obtained from PEBA but 
are projected based on information you provide and 
information in PEBA’s records. Benefit estimates are 
subject to change upon review of your account after 
PEBA receives your retirement application. 

Eligibility 
Class Two members 
If you meet the following requirements, you are 
considered eligible to retire (see Correlated 
systems on Page 2 if you have an account in more 
than one retirement system): 

• 25 years of service credit on the date of 
retirement, five years of which must be 
earned service credit; or 

• Age 55 or older on the date of retirement 
with five years of earned service credit. 

Class Three members 
• 27 years of service credit on the date of 

retirement, eight years of which must be 
earned service credit; or 

• Age 55 or older on the date of retirement 
with eight years of earned service credit. 

Retiree health insurance eligibility 
The eligibility requirements for a service annuity 
and for retiree health insurance are not the same. If 
you are covered by the state’s health insurance 
program, be sure to read the eligibility 
requirements in the Insurance Benefits Guide or 
contact PEBA at 803.737.6800 or toll free at 
888.260.9430 for eligibility information. If your 
employer does not participate in the state’s 
employee health insurance program, contact your 
employer for information about insurance in 
retirement. 

Average final compensation 
Your average final compensation, commonly 
referred to as AFC, is an important part of the 
formula used to calculate your retirement annuity. 

https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
https://www.peba.sc.gov/events/
http://www.peba.sc.gov/
http://www.peba.sc.gov/contactus.html
http://www.peba.sc.gov/assets/insurancebenefitsguide.pdf
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If you are a Class Two member, your AFC is the 12 
highest consecutive quarters3 of earnable 
compensation on which you made regular member 
contributions and were earning service credit. An 
amount up to and including 45 days' termination 
pay for unused annual leave at retirement may be 
included in your AFC calculation. For an elected 
official, AFC may be calculated as the average 
annual earnable compensation for the 36 
consecutive months before the expiration of the 
elected official's term of office. 

If you are a Class Three member, your AFC is the 20 
highest consecutive quarters3 of earnable 
compensation on which you made regular member 
contributions and were earning service credit. 
Termination pay for unused annual leave at 
retirement is not included in the AFC calculation.  

One of PEBA’s goals is to start your annuity 
payment as soon as possible so that you are not 
without income once you terminate employment. 
To make this possible, your initial annuity payment 
does not include any credit for unused sick or 
annual leave, if applicable, nor does it include your 
final earnable compensation information. Until all 
of this information is received from your employer, 
you will receive an estimated annuity. 

If you are a Class Two member, after your employer 
submits your final earnable compensation 
information, which is in the form of quarterly 
retirement contributions, PEBA will audit the 
retirement contributions for your 12 highest 
consecutive quarters of earnable compensation. 
Your AFC may be adjusted after the audit if any of 
the contributions included in the AFC calculation 
were for any payments not considered a part of 
your regular earnable compensation base. Your AFC 
will also be adjusted according to statute to include 
payment for your unused annual leave (see Unused 
Annual at retirement -- Annual leave on Page 13). 
As a result of the information received from your 
employer and the audit of the contributions for 

your 12 highest consecutive quarters of earnable 
compensation, your retirement annuity will be 
finalized. The final amount may be less than, or 
more than, your estimated annuity. 

If you are a Class Three member, you will have 
retirement contributions for your 20 highest 
consecutive quarters of earnable compensation 
audited. You will not receive service credit for 
unused sick leave at retirement, nor will payment at 
retirement for your unused annual leave be 
included in the calculation of your AFC. 

Service retirement annuity 
calculations  
Class Two membership 
The four-step formula is used to calculate your 
monthly annuity based on the Option A payment 
plan described on Pages 13-14. 

Step 1 Total your 12 highest consecutive 
quarters of earnable compensation and 
allowable annual leave payout and 
divide by 3.4 This produces your AFC. 

Step 2 Multiply the result of Step 1 by 2.14 
percent (.0214) for Class Two service.  

Step 3 Multiply the result of Step 2 by years, 
months, and days of service.5 

Step 4 Divide the result of Step 3 by 12. 

 
3A quarter means a period January through March, April 
through June, July through September, or October through 
December. 

4The dollar amount of payment for up to 45 days of unused 
annual leave paid by your last employer at retirement may be 
included before averaging your 12 highest consecutive quarters 
of earnable compensation. The result of Step 1 is your average 
final compensation (AFC). 

5Convert months to days and divide the total days by 360 to 
determine a decimal equivalent for partial years. For example, 
25 years, 2 months and 10 days equals 25 years, 70 days (60 
plus 10). 70 divided by 360 equals .19. This amounts to 25.19 
years of service. 
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Example 
For a Class Two member with 25 years of service 
credit and an AFC of $30,000: 

$30,000 multiplied by 2.14 percent (.0214) equals 
$642 

$642 multiplied by 25 equals $16,050 

$16,050 divided by 12 equals $1,337.50 (Option A 
monthly benefit) 

Unused leave at retirement 
Annual leave 
Only an amount up to and including 45 days’ pay for 
unused annual leave from a Class Two member’s 
last termination payment shall be included before 
averaging the member’s 12 highest consecutive 
quarters of earnable compensation (see Step 1 of 
the benefit formula on Page 12). 

Sick leave 
At retirement, a Class Two member may receive 
service credit for up to 90 days of unused sick leave 
from the member’s last employer at no cost to the 
member (see Step 3 of the benefit formula on Page 
12). This service credit cannot be used to establish 
retirement eligibility. Sick leave is reported by a 
Class Two member’s employer after retirement. 
One month of service credit is granted for each 20 
days of sick leave. 

Class Three membership 
The following four-step calculation is used to 
calculate your monthly annuity based on the Option 
A payment plan described on Page 13-14.  

Step 1 Total your 20 highest consecutive 
quarters of earnable compensation and 
divide by 5. This produces your AFC. 

Step 2 Multiply the result of Step 1 by 2.14 
percent (.0214). 

Step 3 Multiply the result of Step 2 by years, 
months, and days of service.6 

Step 4 Divide the result of Step 3 by 12. 

Class Three example 
For a Class Three member who has 27 years of 
service credit and an AFC of $30,000 

$30,000 multiplied by 2.14 percent (.0214) equals 
$642 

$642 multiplied by 27 equals $17,334 

$17,334 divided by 12 equals $1,444.50 (Option A 
monthly annuity) 

Unused leave at retirement 
Class Three members will not receive service credit 
for any unused sick leave at retirement and any pay 
you receive at termination for unused annual leave 
will not be included in the calculation of your 
average final compensation. 

 

Payment options at 
retirement 
There are three monthly annuity payment options 
available to you at retirement. Select the option 
that best suits your needs. Generally, your payment 
option may not be changed once your annuity is 
first payable. 

 
 
 

6Convert months to days and divide the total days by 360 to 
determine a decimal equivalent for partial years. For example, 
25 years, 2 months and 10 days equals 25 years, 70 days (60 
plus 10). 70 divided by 360 equals .19. This amounts to 25.19 
years of service. 
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Option A (maximum retiree only 
monthly annuity) 
This option provides the maximum monthly annuity 
available and will pay you a lifetime annuity based 
on your average final compensation, years of 
service, and a multiplier (.0214 for Class Two and 
Class Three). After your death, PEBA will return, 
through a lump-sum payment to your beneficiary or 
your estate, the remaining balance of any member 
contributions and interest and any working retiree 
contributions not exhausted through receipt of your 
annuity during your retirement. 

Option B (100% - 100% joint 
retiree-survivor monthly annuity) 
You will receive a reduced (from Option A) monthly 
annuity for life. After your death, the same annuity 
(100 percent of your reduced monthly annuity, 
including granted benefit adjustments) will continue 
throughout your beneficiary’s lifetime. If all of your 
designated beneficiaries predecease you, your 
annuity will revert to Option A, including any 
benefit adjustments granted since your retirement 
date. 

You may select Option B only if your designated 
beneficiary is your spouse, or you designate 
multiple beneficiaries or a sole beneficiary who is 
not your spouse and who is within the 10-year age 
difference limits allowed by an Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) formula. The non-spousal limits do not 
apply if the non-spousal beneficiary is older than 
you, or in the case of disability retirement or death 
benefits. If, based on the IRC formula, the adjusted 
age difference for you and a non-spousal 
beneficiary exceeds the IRC limits, Option B would 
not be available to you. You would be able to select 
Option C, however, with no IRC restrictions. 

Option C (100% - 50% joint 
retiree-survivor monthly annuity) 
You will receive a reduced (from Option A) monthly 
annuity for life. After your death, one-half of the 
annuity (50 percent of your reduced monthly 
annuity, including granted benefit adjustments) will 
continue throughout your beneficiary’s lifetime. If 
all of your designated beneficiaries predecease you, 
your annuity will revert to Option A, including any 
benefit adjustments granted since your retirement 
date. 

If you choose Option B or  
Option C 
If you choose Option B or Option C and name 
multiple beneficiaries, after your death your annuity 
will be divided equally among those beneficiaries. 
The annuity will not change for the remaining 
beneficiaries if one beneficiary dies, either before or 
after the member dies. If you select Option B or 
Option C and all of your designated beneficiaries 
predecease you, your annuity will revert to Option 
A effective on the date the last beneficiary died. 
You must notify PEBA upon the death of a 
beneficiary. 

Approximate amount of Option 
A monthly annuity at retirement 
The information in the table below is based on 
Option A. Choosing Option B or Option C to provide 
a future annuity for beneficiaries will reduce the 
amount of your monthly annuity. 
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AFC Years of service 

Additional 
monthly 

annuity for 
each 

additional 
year 

 5 10 15 20 25 27 30 35 40  

$20,000 $178 $357 $535 $713 $892 $963 $1,070 $1,248 $1,427 $36 

$25,000 $223 $446 $669 $892 $1,115 $1,204 $1,338 $1,560 $1,783 $45 

$30,000 $268 $535 $803 $1,070 $1,338 $1,445 $1,605 $1,873 $2,140 $54 

$35,000 $312 $624 $936 $1,248 $1,560 $1,685 $1,873 $2,185 $2,497 $62 

$40,000 $357 $713 $1,070 $1,427 $1,783 $1,926 $2,140 $2,497 $2,853 $71 

$45,000 $401 $803 $1,204 $1,605 $2,006 $2,167 $2,408 $2,809 $3,210 $80 

$50,000 $446 $892 $1,338 $1,783 $2,229 $2,408 $2,675 $3,121 $3,567 $89 

$55,000 $490 $981 $1,471 $1,962 $2,452 $2,648 $2,943 $3,433 $3,923 $98 

$60,000 $535 $1,070 $1,605 $2,140 $2,675 $2,889 $3,210 $3,745 $4,280 $107 

$65,000 $580 $1,159 $1,739 $2,318 $2,898 $3,130 $3,478 $4,057 $4,637 $116 

$70,000 $624 $1,248 $1,873 $2,497 $3,121 $3,371 $3,745 $4,369 $4,993 $125 

$75,000 $669 $1,338 $2,006 $2,675 $3,344 $3,611 $4,013 $4,681 $5,350 $134 

$80,000 $713 $1,427 $2,140 $2,853 $3,567 $3,852 $4,280 $4,993 $5,707 $143 

$85,000 $758 $1,516 $2,274 $3,032 $3,790 $4,093 $4,548 $5,305 $6,036 $152 

$90,000 $803 $1,605 $2,408 $3,210 $4,013 $4,334 $4,815 $5,618 $6,420 $161 

$95,000 $847 $1,694 $2,541 $3,388 $4,235 $4,574 $5,083 $5,930 $6,777 $169 

$100,000 $892 $1,783 $2,675 $3,567 $4,458 $4,815 $5,350 $6,242 $7,133 $178 

$110,000 $981 $1,962 $2,943 $3,923 $4,904 $5,297 $5,885 $6,866 $7,847 $196 
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Post-retirement information 
Monthly annuity payments 
Monthly annuity payments are directly deposited 
into your bank account on the last business day of 
each month. Electronic distribution of monthly 
annuity payments reduces risks to both annuity 
recipients and the state, as well as reduces costs to 
the retirement plans. You may add or change your 
direct deposit information any time by logging into 
PEBA’s secure Member Access website or contact 
our office at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 to 
receive a Direct Deposit Authorization (Form 7204).  

Taxes 
The taxable portion of your monthly annuity, and 
any incidental death benefit and Accidental Death 
Program payments are subject to federal and state 
income taxes. Since tax laws are complex and 
constantly changing, be sure to check with an 
accountant or a tax advisor about your tax liability, 
or visit the IRS’s website at www.irs.gov and the 
website for the tax agency in the state in which you 
reside. In South Carolina, visit the South Carolina 
Department of Revenue’s website at 
https://dor.sc.gov.  

Additional information for disability 
retirees 
If you are a PORS member who is receiving a 
disability annuity, the disability benefits paid to you 
from PEBA are reported annually on IRS Form 1099-
R as normal distributions for income tax purposes. 
This is in accordance with IRS guidelines, which also 
direct usage of various codes to reflect the taxability 
of a payment, or distribution, for income tax 
purposes. PEBA is required to use a code “7” in box 
7 of your Form 1099-R rather than a code “3” 
because the disability program for PORS members is 
an occupational or job-related disability program 
rather than a total and permanent disability 
program as described in section 72(m)(7) of the 

Internal Revenue Code. A code “7” in box 7 of your 
Form 1099-R means that you are not subject to the 
10 percent tax penalty for early withdrawal because 
you receive your retirement benefits through a 
monthly annuity; however, these benefits should be 
included as ordinary income for tax purposes. 

Although the Form 1099-R you receive from PEBA 
correctly contains a code “7” in box 7, you may also 
receive monthly benefits from the Social Security 
Administration and be considered totally and 
permanently disabled for Social Security 
purposes. If you are considered totally and 
permanently disabled for Social Security purposes, 
you may qualify for the Credit for the Elderly or the 
Disabled. Please refer to Schedule R when 
completing your tax return. You must keep for your 
records a copy of your physician’s statement, which 
certifies that you were permanently and totally 
disabled on the date that you retired. 

Benefit adjustments 
Per current state law, effective each July 1, eligible 
PORS retirees are to receive an annual benefit 
adjustment of 1 percent of their annual annuity up 
to a maximum of $500 per year. The increase will be 
reflected in annuity payments issued on the last 
business day of July since benefits are payable the 
last business day of the month. The earliest you can 
receive a benefit adjustment is the second July 1 
after your date of retirement. 

Amounts paid to your beneficiary are considered 
taxable benefits; therefore, federal taxes will be 
withheld unless your beneficiary rolls over the 
money into another qualified retirement plan. It is 
up to your beneficiary to request that state taxes be 
withheld from the payment. 

 
 

https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
https://forms.retirement.sc.gov/formGenericGet.do?formNum=web7204.xdp
http://www.irs.gov/
https://dor.sc.gov/
http://www.irs.gov/publications/p524/index.html
http://www.irs.gov/publications/p524/index.html
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040sr.pdf
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Non-working retired member 
incidental death benefit 
As a non-working retiree, if you die and your last 
employer prior to retirement provides incidental 
death benefit coverage (see Page 6), a payment 
based on your service credit will be paid to your 
beneficiaries as follows: 

Class Two 
membership 

years of service 
credit 

Incidental 
death 

benefit 
payment 

Class Three 
membership 

years of service 
credit 

10 to 19 years of 
service credit 

$2,000 10 to 19 years of 
service credit 

20 to 24 years of 
service credit 

$4,000 20 to 26 years of 
service credit 

25 or more years 
of service credit 

$6,000 27 or more years of 
service credit 

 

Amounts paid to your beneficiary are considered 
taxable benefits; therefore, federal taxes will be 
withheld unless your beneficiary rolls over the 
money into another qualified retirement plan. It is 
up to your beneficiary to request that state taxes be 
withheld from the payment. 

Returning to covered 
employment 
To return to work after you retire, you must first 
have a complete, bona fide severance or 
termination of employment. After 30 days of 
retirement, you may be hired by an employer 
covered by one of the retirement systems 
administered by PEBA. If you return to covered 
employment sooner than 30 consecutive calendar 
days after retirement, your monthly annuity will be 
suspended while you remain employed by a 
covered employer. 

 
 

Earnings limitation for covered 
employment – service retiree 
If you retire before you reach age 57 and return to 
covered employment, you will be subject to a 
$10,000 per year earnings limitation. This means 
you can earn up to $10,000 per year from covered 
employment and continue to receive your 
retirement annuity. If you continue covered 
employment after earning more than $10,000 in a 
calendar year, your monthly annuity will be 
suspended for the remainder of that year. The 
$10,000 earnings limitation applies regardless of 
your age when you return to covered employment. 
For example, if you retire at age 54 with 27 years of 
service and return to covered employment when 
you are 59 years old, you would still be subject to 
the $10,000 earnings limitation since you retired 
before you reached age 57.  

The $10,000 earnings limitation from covered 
employment does not apply to members who 
retired prior to January 2, 2013, or members who 
retire after age 57. In addition, the limitation does 
not apply to compensation for service as an elected 
official, service as an appointee of the Governor 
with confirmation by the South Carolina Senate, or 
service by appointment or election by the General 
Assembly. 

Earnings limitation from all employment 
– disability retiree 
Please see the Returning to employment while 
receiving a disability retirement annuity section on 
Page 9 for information about the calendar year 
earnings limitation for disability retirees. 

Employment status 
Any retired member who is employed by an agency 
that adheres to state personnel policies will be 
exempt from the State Employee Grievance 
Procedure Act. This means your employment is at 
will. If, as a retired member, you return to work for 
an employer that is not governed by state 
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personnel policies, you would be subject to your 
employer’s policies regarding employment status 
and rights. 

Working 48 continuous months 
If you return to employment and work 48 
continuous months for a covered employer with an 
annual earnable compensation of at least 75 
percent of the AFC used to calculate your monthly 
annuity, you may elect to cease your monthly 
annuity and become an active member of PORS (or 
SCRS). If you become an active member again, you 
have the option to repay some or all retirement 
benefits. When you subsequently retire, your 
monthly annuity will be calculated as if you were 
retiring for the first time. TERI participation does 
not count toward the 48-month period. If you begin 
this process for the purpose of establishing 
eligibility for retiree health insurance, please 
contact PEBA for assistance. 

Working retired member 
incidental death benefit 
If you are a working retired member and your 
employer provides incidental death benefit 
coverage, a payment equal to your current annual 
earnable compensation will be paid to your 
beneficiary if you die while in service. Amounts paid 
to your beneficiary are considered taxable benefits; 
therefore, federal taxes will be withheld unless your 
beneficiary rolls over the money into another 
qualified plan. It is up to your beneficiary to request 
that state taxes be withheld from the payment.  

Working retired member 
contribution rate 
If you return to work for a covered employer after 
you retire, you will contribute the same tax-
deferred percentage of your gross pay into your 
PORS retirement account as an active member. As a 
working retiree, you will not earn additional service 
credit or receive interest on your account; however, 

you can be assured of getting back contributions 
made as a working retiree through annuity 
payments to you or annuity payments and/or a 
refund of contributions to your surviving beneficiary 
if you chose payment Option B or Option C at 
retirement. If you chose payment Option A at 
retirement and the retiree contributions have not 
been exhausted through the payment of benefits to 
you, a refund of contributions will be paid to your 
designated beneficiary. 

Beneficiary and payment 
option changes 
Retired member incidental death 
benefit 
You may change your beneficiary for the retired 
member incidental death benefit at any time 
regardless of the payment option you selected. 

 
Option A 
You may change your beneficiary for retirement 
benefits at any time. If you have a change in marital 
status (death of spouse, marriage, divorce), you 
may also select a new payment option within five 
years of the qualifying event. 

Option B and Option C 
If all of your beneficiaries predecease you, your 
monthly annuity will revert to Option A effective on 
the date the last beneficiary died. You must notify 
PEBA upon the death of a beneficiary. You may then 
select a new beneficiary under Option A. If you have 
a change in marital status (death of spouse, 
marriage, divorce), you may also select a new 
payment option and designate a new beneficiary 
within five years of the qualifying event. 

Payment option change limitation 
Your form of monthly payment may not be changed 
more than twice regardless of the number of events 
(death of a designated beneficiary or change in 



PORS Member Handbook 
20 

marital status) that occur. A reversion to Option A 
after the death of your beneficiary will count as one 
of the two changes. If a second beneficiary 
predeceases you after you have again selected 
Option B or Option C, you will revert automatically 
to Option A; however, no further form of payment 
changes will be allowed. Changes in form of 
payment occurring before January 1, 2001, are not 
included in the limitation provision. 

For more information 
Be sure to visit PEBA’s website at www.peba.sc.gov 
for additional information, resources, and tools. 
Estimate what your retirement benefit will be by 
using one of our online calculators. 

PEBA uses various social media platforms to 
communicate with employers, members, the media, 
and other stakeholders. We invite you to take 
advantage of these communications tools by 
“liking” us on Facebook and “following” us on 
Instagram, Twitter, and YouTube. We encourage 
you to join the conversation. 

You may also contact PEBA by telephone at 
803.737.6800 or toll free at 888.260.9430, by email 
at http://www.peba.sc.gov/contactus.html, or by 
live chat by clicking on the “Customer Service Chat 
Now” button at the top of the PEBA homepage. 
Please note that PEBA does not answer questions 
about a specific individual’s benefits through Live 
Chat. 

 

http://www.peba.sc.gov/
http://www.peba.sc.gov/retirement.html
http://www.peba.sc.gov/contactus.html


South Carolina Public Employee Benefit Authority
Peggy G. Boykin, CPA, Executive Director

Address
202 Arbor Lake Drive
Columbia, SC 29223

Phone
803.737.6800
888.260.9430

Office hours
8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.

www.peba.sc.gov
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