Serving those who serve South Carolina

Dental benefits

You have two options for dental coverage: Dental Plus or Basic Dental (formerly known as the State Dental Plan). Dental Plus pays more and has higher premiums and lower out-of-pocket costs. Basic Dental pays less and has lower premiums and higher out-of-pocket costs. When you make your election, you’ll choose either Dental Plus or Basic Dental, not both. BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina (BlueCross) processes dental claims.

 

Dental Plus

Dental Plus has higher allowed amounts, which are the maximum amounts allowed by the plan for a covered service. Network providers cannot charge you for the difference in their cost and the allowed amount. The maximum yearly benefit for a person covered by Dental Plus is $2,000.

 

Basic Dental

Basic Dental has lower allowed amounts, which are the maximum amounts allowed by the plan for a covered service. There is no network for Basic Dental; therefore, providers can charge you for the difference in their cost and the allowed amount. The maximum yearly benefit for a person covered by Basic Dental is $1,000.

 

Enrollment

You can enroll during:

  • Your initial enrollment;
  • Open enrollment in October of odd-numbered years; or
  • A special eligibility situation.

 

Identification cards

After your initial enrollment, you will receive a Dental Plus identification from BlueCross. You can also access your Dental Plus digital identification card from the My Health Toolkit mobile app. If you need to order a replacement card, visit StateSC.SouthCarolinaBlues.com or call BlueCross at 888.214.6230. You will need your Benefits Identification Number (BIN). If you don’t know your BIN, log in to MyBenefits and select Get My BIN.

 

If you enrolled in Basic Dental, your benefits administrator can provide you with a card on which you can write your name and BIN.

 

Learn more

 

 

202 Arbor Lake Drive

Columbia, SC 29223

803.737.6800 | 888.260.9430

Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.

Links

Connect with us

State of South Carolina

S.C. Code of Laws

© 2019 South Carolina Public Employee Benefit Authority

Data classification: public information