Serving those who serve South Carolina

Long term disability

Unexpected events can always occur, and many people think they will never become disabled. PEBA offers disability coverage, administered by Standard Insurance Company (The Standard).

 

Basic long term disability

Eligible employees enrolled in the State Health Plan have basic long term disability protection at no cost. The Basic Long Term Disability Plan protects a part of your income if you become disabled.

 

Benefits overview

  • A 90-day benefit waiting period;
  • A monthly benefit1 of 62.5 percent of your predisability earnings, reduced by deductible income;
  • A maximum $800 monthly benefit; and
  • A maximum benefit period to age 65 if you become disabled before age 62. If you become disabled at age 62 or older, the maximum benefit period is based on your age at the time of disability

 

Supplemental long term disability

This optional disability insurance plan provides more protection for you and your family. Supplemental long term disability is a voluntary benefit for which you pay. This benefit provides:

  • Competitive group rates;
  • Survivors benefits for eligible dependents;
  • Coverage for injury, physical disease, mental disorder or pregnancy;
  • A return-to-work incentive;
  • SLTD conversion insurance;
  • A cost-of-living adjustment; and
  • Lifetime security benefit.

 

Benefits overview

  • A 90-day or 180-day benefit waiting period;
  • A monthly benefit1 of 65 percent of your predisability earnings, reduced by deductible income;
  • A maximum $8,000 monthly benefit; and
  • A minimum $100 monthly benefit.

 

Enrollment

You do not have to enroll in the Basic Long Term Disability Plan. You can enroll in the Supplemental Long Term Disability Plan during:

  • Your initial enrollment;
  • Open enrollment in October; or
  • A special eligibility situation.

 

Resources

 

1 Benefits are subject to federal and state income taxes. Check with your accountant or tax advisor regarding your tax liability.

 

 

202 Arbor Lake Drive

Columbia, SC 29223

803.737.6800 | 888.260.9430

Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.

Links

Connect with us

State of South Carolina

S.C. Code of Laws

© 2016 South Carolina Public Employee Benefit Authority

Data classification: public information