Serving those who serve South Carolina

Blue CareOnDemand

Blue CareOnDemand℠ is a faster, easier way to connect with health care professionals. You can use this service to connect with U.S. board-certified physicians and other health care professionals 24/7, 365 days a year, from your computer or smartphone. This feature is available to State Health Plan primary members (Standard and Savings Plans) age 18 and older. Dependent children under age 18 can also use this benefit with an adult member.

 

Your copayment, deductible and coinsurance will be processed the same as it is for a normal office visit for State Health Plan (Standard and Savings Plans) primary members. If a physician feels the member needs to visit a primary care physician or urgent care, the incurred expenses will be reversed.

 

This video visit option is covered as a traditional office visit under each Plan. For example, if you have the Standard Plan, a visit before you meet your deductible can total $59, and after you meet your deductible your visit can be as low as $21.40. Please note that Blue CareOnDemand is the only video visit option covered by the State Health Plan. Medicare does not cover virtual visits, so members enrolled in the Medicare Supplemental Plan are not eligible for this service.

 

Blue CareOnDemand is a great solution when:

  • You need to see a doctor, but can’t fit it into your schedule
  • Your doctor’s office is closed
  • You feel too sick to drive
  • You have children at home and don’t want to bring them with you
  • You’re a college student away from home.
  • You’re traveling.

 

Doctors can treat many common health conditions through video visits, including:

  • Cold and flu symptoms
  • Bronchitis and other respiratory infections
  • Sinus problems
  • Pinkeye
  • Ear infections
  • Allergies
  • Migraines
  • Rashes and other skin irritations
  • And more!

 

Blue CareOnDemand doctors can even write prescriptions, when needed, according to state regulations.

 

Two easy ways to use the service

  1. From your computer: Visit www.BlueCareOnDemandSC.com.
  2. From your mobile device: Download the free app for your Apple or Android device. Please note, Blue CareOnDemand is only available through the app when using your mobile device.

 

Register now so you are set to use the service whenever you need to. Members age 18 and older must create their own Blue CareOnDemand account; however, dependents younger than 18 must use the primary subscriber’s account. If you have any questions, please call the number on the back of your State Health Plan membership ID card.

 

 

202 Arbor Lake Drive

Columbia, SC 29223

803.737.6800 | 888.260.9430

Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.

Links

Connect with us

State of South Carolina

S.C. Code of Laws

© 2016 South Carolina Public Employee Benefit Authority

Data classification: public information