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This document does not constitute a comprehensive or binding representation regarding the employee benefits offered by the South Carolina Public Employee Benefit Authority (PEBA). The terms and 
conditions of the retirement benefit plans offered by PEBA are set out in the applicable statutes and are subject to change. Please contact PEBA for the most current information. The language used in this 
document does not create any contractual rights or entitlements for any person.

There are three monthly benefit payment options available to you at retirement. Two of those options provide 
your survivors with a lifetime monthly payment. Select the option that best suits your needs. Generally, your 
payment option may not be changed once your benefit is first payable. Below are your choices if you retire from 
the South Carolina Retirement System (SCRS) or Police Officers Retirement System (PORS).

Option A: 
maximum payment 

option

Option B: 
100% survivor payment 

option

Option C: 
50% survivor payment 

option

You receive:

A lifetime monthly benefit 
equal to the maximum 

benefit payable to you by 
law.

A lifetime monthly reduced 
benefit, which allows for 

a lifetime monthly benefit 
for your beneficiary.

A lifetime monthly reduced 
benefit, which allows for 

a lifetime monthly benefit 
for your beneficiary.

After your death, 
surviving beneficiary 

receives:

Your member contributions 
and interest in your 

account not exhausted 
through the monthly 

benefits you received in 
retirement.

A lifetime monthly benefit 
equal to your reduced 

benefit.

A lifetime monthly benefit 
equal to 50% of your 

reduced benefit.

Beneficiary naming 
restrictions:

None

Your beneficiary must be 
a living person. Monthly 

benefits cannot be 
paid to your estate or 
other entity. You may 
not designate a sole 

beneficiary who is more 
than 10 years younger 
than you as calculated 

under an Internal Revenue 
Code formula, unless 
the beneficiary is your 

spouse. You may designate 
multiple beneficiaries 

without age restrictions.

Your beneficiary must be 
a living person. Monthly 

benefits cannot be paid to 
your estate or other entity.



Option B or C benefit reduction amounts

Members receive lifetime payments. Your age 
and the age of your beneficiaries at the time you 
retire determine your reduction from the Option A 
maximum benefit. To calculate the reduction, PEBA 
uses actuarial tables that project life expectancy. 
Selecting a younger beneficiary typically creates 
a larger reduction. An older beneficiary leads to a 
smaller reduction.

For Option B, naming a beneficiary who is the same 
age as you typically leads to a 12 to 15 percent 
reduction.

For Option C, a beneficiary who is your age typically 
leads to a reduction of 6 to 8 percent.

Naming multiple beneficiaries

If you elected Option A and named more than one 
beneficiary, each beneficiary will receive an equal 
share of available funds after your death.

If you elected Option B or C, your reduced monthly 
retirement benefit is calculated using the average 
age of your beneficiaries. After your death, your 
beneficiaries will receive an equal share of the 
monthly benefit payable. The benefit will not change 
for the remaining beneficiaries if one beneficiary 
dies, either before or after your death.

If all your beneficiaries predecease you and you 
elected Option B or C, your benefit will revert to 
Option A. Anytime a beneficiary dies, you will need to 
notify PEBA.

Changing beneficiaries or payment 
options

At retirement, you designate post-retirement 
beneficiaries and choose your payment option. You 
cannot select your payment option before you are 
eligible to apply for retirement.

If you elected Option A
After retirement, you can change beneficiaries at 
any time. You can change your payment option 
within five years of a marital status change. This 
can be marriage, divorce or death of a spouse. You 

can change your payment option only twice, and 
you must have a separate qualifying event for each 
change. If your benefit reverts to Option A from 
Options B or C, this counts toward the two-change 
limit.

If you elected Options B or C
After retirement, you cannot change your 
beneficiaries unless you have a change in marital 
status.1 You can change your beneficiaries and 
payment option within five years of a marital status 
change. If all your beneficiaries predecease you, 
your benefit will revert to Option A. You can change 
your payment option only twice, and you must have 
a separate qualifying event for each change. If your 
benefit reverts to Option A from Options B or C, this 
counts toward the two-change limit.

Learn more

•	 peba.sc.gov.

•	 Member handbooks.

•	 Retirement applications and other forms.

•	 Member Access.

•	 Review service credit.

•	 Create benefit estimates.

•	 Review and update your beneficiary 
information.

•	 PEBA’s Customer Contact Center: 803.737.6800 
or 888.260.9430.

1You can also change your beneficiaries for the retired member 
incidental death benefit at any time. See the member handbook 
for your retirement system to learn more.

https://peba.sc.gov
http://online.retirement.sc.gov

