Terminating Your Retirement Under the 48-month Rule



Certain South Carolina Retirement System (SCRS) and Police Officers Retirement System (PORS) retired members who are working for a covered employer can cancel receipt of their monthly retirement benefit and return to active contributing status. The ability to cancel retirement benefits and revert to active status is commonly referred to as the 48-month rule.

Eligibility

To exercise the 48-month rule option, you must meet the following requirements:

- Have returned to covered employment with a participating employer after retirement and been continuously employed for a period of at least 48 consecutive months; and
- Have earned compensation each month at an annual rate equal to or greater than 75% of your average final compensation (AFC) for the entire 48 months.

Terminating your retirement benefit

- Once PEBA confirms you are eligible for the 48-month rule and you decide to return to active contributing status, work with your employer's benefits office to complete a *Request to Terminate Benefits and Return to Active Service* (Form 7100), available at peba.sc.gov/forms.
- Submit the signed Form 7100 to PEBA at least 30 days prior to the date you plan to enroll as an active member. Ordinarily the effective date should be the first day of a month.

Designating a beneficiary

- After you return to active membership, you must designate new beneficiaries. To make active beneficiary designations, log in to your <u>Member Access account</u> or submit the <u>Active Member Beneficiary Form</u> (Form 1102).
- If you don't submit a new beneficiary election, your estate will become your beneficiary by default.

Your subsequent retirement

When you are ready to retire again, you will follow the same process as an initial retirement, including submitting a new retirement application.

Returning to covered employment

If you return to covered employment again after your second retirement, your receipt of benefits will be subject to the separation from service and return-towork rules in place at the time of your second retirement. In particular, the date of your second retirement will be your date of retirement for the purposes of the earnings limitation and any exceptions to that limitation.



This document does not constitute a comprehensive or binding representation regarding the employee benefits offered by the South Carolina Public Employee Benefit Authority (PEBA). The terms and conditions of the retirement benefit plans offered by PEBA are set out in the applicable statutes and are subject to change. Please contact PEBA for the most current information. The language used in this document does not create any contractual rights or entitlements for any person.

Purchasing retiree service credit

- After you return to active membership, you may purchase all or a portion of your covered employment as a working retiree that qualified for the 48-month rule. To do so, you must repay all benefits you received for the period of time being purchased. Once established, this service credit will count as earned service and will be used in calculating your benefits upon your subsequent retirement. Purchased 48-month rule service is credited to the retirement system in which an active member in your position would have participated.
- You are not required to purchase 48-month rule service. If you do not purchase 48-month rule service, your qualifying employment under the 48-month rule will not be included for service credit or AFC purposes when you retire again.
- To receive an invoice, log in to your <u>Member</u>
 <u>Access account</u> or submit a <u>Request for Service</u>
 <u>Purchase Cost</u> (Form 2101).
- Any service purchase must be completed while you are an active, contributing member of the retirement systems. After terminating your retirement benefit, you will need to allow sufficient time as an active member to complete any service purchase you wish to make before retiring again.

Employee to-dos

Before terminating your benefit

- Complete a *Request for 48-Month Rule Eligibility* (Form 7101), available at peba.sc.gov/forms, and submit the signed form to PEBA to confirm eligibility.
- Complete a Request to Terminate Benefits and Return to Active Service (Form 7100), available at peba.sc.gov/forms, and submit the signed form to PEBA at least 30 days prior to the date you plan to enroll as an active member.

After returning to active membership

- Designate active beneficiaries through <u>Member</u>
 <u>Access</u>.
- If you wish, while you are active, purchase all or a portion of your covered employment as a working retiree that qualified for the 48-month rule. Log in to your <u>Member Access account</u> to request an invoice.
- When you are ready to retire again, apply for retirement via <u>Member Access</u> as early as six months before, but no later than 90 days after, your desired retirement date.